R.I.P.

gravemarker

I love the grave marker for Billy Graham’s beloved wife, Ruth.  Note the final words:

“End of construction — Thank you for your patience.”

How great is that!  She reminds us that we are all in process and under construction (or at least we should be) until our body wears out and our soul makes the transition to eternal life.

Wander through a cemetery (something I think we should all do at least annually) and you will often see “R.I.P.” on tombstones.  The Latin “Requiescat in Pace” or “Rest in Peace” first showed up on grave markers in the 8th century.  By the 18th century it became quite common on the graves of Christians.  The idea can be traced to this Old Testament verse from Isaiah:

“For those who follow godly paths will rest in peace when they die.”  Isaiah 57:2 (NLT)

Seems to me that resting in peace might be more appropriate for while we are alive.  When I find myself struggling to sleep (something that happens from time to time and may be a sign of my accumulating years) I begin to conduct a bit of an inventory to determine what is stealing my sleep.  More often than not it is because I am not at peace.  I’ve gone to bed worried about a person or a project or a problem.

I heard a story recently about a person who was facing a challenge and a friend asked him if he was worried.  His response:  “Would it help?”  My response to that story:  Wow!  So true, how does worrying help.  The best antidote to worry is prayer so when I find myself struggling to rest in peace, I pray.

Peaceful people are people under construction because someone or something is almost always trying to steal your peace and the absence of peace prevents us from living out our passion.

So these days I’m doing my best to rest in peace and rise up with passion.  All the while remembering that Ruth Bell Graham was right, I am still under construction.  Please be patient!

 

 

One thought on “R.I.P.

  1. And even for Protestants, this can be a prayer for those who “die in the Lord.” While we do not believe that we can pray a soul into heaven, we can pause in gratitude for lives well lived and ask that God might grant them the rest and peace that so often escapes us while living here in earth. For Ruth and millions of other holy ones we will pause on All Saints Day and wish them the rest and rewards they deserve because of the faith and faithfulness.

    Like

Leave a comment